Fat Bound Books You Make the Readin’ World Go ‘Round*

I’m re-reading The Historian and I love it just as much as I did the first time. It is taking me forever due to the book’s heft, but there is nothing I like more than plunging into a nice thick book and swimming around in it for hours. Some of my most favorite books are fatties: Bleak House, Villette, The Count of Monte Cristo…. Good Stuff.Β  I’ve been thinking about fat books for the past few weeks. I love them and they do make the world go ’round.

It is also that time of year when I begin thinking about what I want to read before the end of the year and what plans I have for next year. I usually toss the plans out the window after a month in, but I relish the list-making and organizing of thinking about future reads. My OCD nature loves it just as much as the reading.

You all know where this is leading… I lovely, luscious list of chunksters. Below you’ll find my top ten longish reads I’m dying to read. I’m not including books I own (hint, hint Sam) and I have yet to read these titles.

dickens

I read the Tomalin biography last year. I’ve been told that this is more literary analysis with the biography.

east of eden

Highly recommended by a dear bookish friend… a must read for next year

game of thrones

Luckily my mom (I think) is getting me the set for my Kindle for Christmas. Yay!

goldfinch

MUST READ NOW

kristin lavransdatter

I’ve wanted to read this for years. This lovely Penguin deluxe book contains all three books in the series.

les miserables

I’ve decided only this beautiful cloth-bound and translation will do.

luminaries

I love a good sprawling, Dickensian Booker winner!

no name

More Wilkie for Wilkie in Winter. I’m planning on reading this with my good friend Traci.

orley farm

I think a Trollope stand alone novel would be a good start for me. I’m overwhelmed by the number of books in his series.

virginia

I need more Woolf in my life.

What fatties are on yourself? Let me know what you want to read and what you’ve read!

*I like big books and I cannot lie has been done to death… don’t hate

15 comments

  1. Ha! I love the title of this, and I love the looks of the books you have on your list. I have a few chunkies on my own TBR. Specifically, Little Women, The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay, and The Woman in White, of course. I also have The Goldfinch staring at me from my shelves. πŸ™‚

  2. I love this post! And have love chunky books since I tackled GONE WITH THE WIND at age 10! That is my all-time favorite book. I just finished reading WE ARE WATER and that’s another chunkster. Right now THE GOLDFINCH and NIGHTFILM are staring at me!

  3. I totally agree about the list-making: I find planning just as satisfying as actually reading (if not more so, sometimes!) We should probably be in therapy.

    I just added the Virginia Woolf bio to my list, and the Dickens one sounds great, too. I haven’t heard about the Luminaries, but damn that cover is gorgeous!

    And East of Eden is w o n d e r f u l! Great list. I hope you get a chance to read them all. πŸ™‚

  4. Drood by Dan Simmons was an enormous book; but I totally enjoyed it. A Dickens/Collins-inspired and -themed fattie. I have to admit I’ve never read any Wilkie Collins. Have you read Drood?

    1. I read Drood. At first I didn’t think I liked it (mostly because Wilkie Collins seemed so werid) but then I found myself thinking about it constantly. It was a book that really got under my skin. I cannot wait to reread that one in the future.

  5. Ah, I too, have been doing some list-making and “tome consideration.” The Count of Monte Cristo is one of my all time favorite books (it’s a fatty that flies by!). I’ve got the Tomalin Dickens biography awaiting me on the TBR and I am very curious about the Game of Thrones books. I’ve got The Empire of the Czar on my shelf (oldest book on my TBR – been there since 1989-90?…hanging head in shame), The Hemingses of Monticello, Nicholas Nickleby, The Four Feathers, The Last of the Mohicans, and (ahem) a few David McCullough tomes as well as a few Anthony Trollopes. (And I’m stopping there with the list.) Every December I tell myself “next year will be the ‘year of the tome,'” but then I crash and burn after January feeling like I want to read *more,* so I go for the “low-hanging fruit” on the shelves — the under-300 pgs. books. I’ve got my sights set on The Bone Season that I’ve heard so much about lately, and with a 50% off coupon burning a hole in my pocket, I’m planning on picking it up tomorrow at Half-Price books (its either that or the first Game of Thrones book). Now, to just have a blizzard to snow us in so I can have days of guilt-free uninterrupted reading (never gonna happen where I live!). πŸ™‚ Perhaps I shall come up with a personal challenge for myself for next year of say, one tome a month? You have inspired me…now off to make another list!
    Happy Reading to you!

  6. Great post! I loved East of Eden, The Count of Monte Cristo, and Kristin Lavransdatter! Fatties at the top of my list include The Goldfinch, Vilette, 11/22/63, and Winter of the World. Am hoping to read at least one or two of them this winter.

Leave a Reply

