Autumn Book Tag

autumn book tag

I’ve been dipping into BookTube on occasion. Vlogging is something I don’t see in my future (gracious, I can hardly keep this blog going) but I do like watching all the reviews, memes, and book hauls. Andi at Estella’s Revenge opened my eyes to BookTubing; you can catch her channel here.

There is a meme sweeping the BookTube community, The Autumn Book Tag. I love books. I love Autumn. And boy do I love lists. So let’s go!

1. What is your favorite thing about Autumn? The weather. I love the crispness in the air more than anything. It also lends itself to other things I love: early nights, coffee/cocoa/tea, sweaters and scarves, sleeping or reading under piles of quilts, and knitting with lovely-hued yarns. It is still fairly warm (high 70s to low 80s), but early in the morning and at night that crisp freshness is there.

2. What book reminds you of your school days? The Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I read those books obsessively as a child. My particular childhood memory concerns book 5 — The Long Winter. We didn’t always have working heat as a child and I was homeschooled. I can remember my mom dragging the kerosene heater into the middle of our dining room, which served as a classroom, and us gathering around to get warm. I never thought it was odd or that we were deprived, I just thought of the scene in The Long Winter when Laura and Mary wake up and their quilt is covered in a thin sheet of ice and the water in the washbowl was frozen solid. Now that’s cold!

3. What book cover reminds you of Autumn? Hands down the Jae Lee illustrated Dracula:

The Illustrated Dracula_cover 01Although one friend pointed out that Dracula looks a lot like Billy Corgan and now I cannot un-see the similarities.

4. What is your favorite horror or Halloween story? I’m going to actually go with a short story and not a novel. M R James’s short story “Oh, Whistle and I’ll come to you, My Lad” scared the holy hell out of me. Here is a watchable version:

5. What is your favorite horror or Halloween film? My favorite non-scary film is the 1944 film The Uninvited. The movie that scared me the most is The Woman in Black. I’ve developed an aversion to wind-up toys and rocking chairs as a result.

6.  What Fall book release are you most looking forward to? MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood (already out!), Bellman and Black by Diane Setterfield, and The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt.

7.  What Autumn movie release are you most anticipating? I’m looking forward to Catching Fire in November. Not a new release, but Sam and I have a date night planned in a few weeks to see Night of the Living Dead (with commentary by the MST3K dudes) in late October.

8. What are three books you plan to read this Autumn? The Asylum by John Harwood, The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova, and East Lynne by Mrs. H. Ward. Of course they are all creepy or Gothic reads!

 

There you have it. And, of course, I have to tag folks. Okay — Heather@CapriciousReader, Catherine@TheCakeWife, and Katie@MamatheReader. Feel free to tag yourself and play along.

 

 

 

One comment

  1. I have a friend who owns just about every horror film imaginable….she watched Woman in Black once in the theatres, and has not been able to see it again! When I saw the movie, a man actually said out loud, ‘don’t open the door’ when there is knocking at the door when the main character is alone in the house. It is quite a creepy and effective movie, isn’t it?

    I love autumn too, especially the colours and the smell of the leaves. Lovely answers to this meme, I enjoyed them.

Leave a Reply

