Book Goal: 10 for Autumn

I’ve done a pathetic amount of reading this year. 19 books so far and I usually average between 45 and 50 a year. It seems like my goal of reading 36 books this year — a modest reduction in number — may prove elusive.

What can I do? Life has been busy and right now there are more important things than books. I want to read, though. I want nothing more than an entire day of coffee and reading and solitude. A girl can dream, right?

I’m trying to squeeze in reading here and there, but I’m running into a problem. If I slow down enough to read then I find myself falling asleep. My books are exciting, but my body is tired (thank you Persy and your adorable new little teeth).

I keep making stacks of books each month because, silly me, I cannot just pick one book at a time. I like a lovely stack and I like to work my way through the lovely stack. Since my monthly numbers are shameful, I figure it would be best to have a longer chunk of time. Hence, seasonal goals.  Autumn is “officially” September 22nd – December 20th this year. Let’s throw caution to the wind and amass a lovely, large heft of books to read for the fall. I’ve limited myself to 10 books to knock out this Autumn:

The Dead Secret by Wilkie Collins

The Victorian Chaise-longue by Maghanita Laski

The Asylum by John Harwood

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

East Lynne by Mrs. Henry Ward

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood

MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood

The Meaning of Night by Michael Cox

The Glass of Time by Michael Cox

I’m hopeful this a manageable goal and when winter begins on December 21st there will be a lovely new reading event that I cannot announce quite yet. It will be good I promise you that.

Cheers to Autumn reads!

6 comments

  1. I could write this exact post right now! I have the falling asleep problem as well (I’ve been working on a baby led weaning book for the past week and manage maybe 2 pages at a time). I hope you get out of this teething fog ASAP and get some readin’ time in! Your autumn list looks lovely. 🙂

    1. Pretty soon I’m going to quit going to the daycare to nurse Persy on my lunchbreaks. She is just hitting the separation anxiety phase and I hate to nurse for 20 minutes and leave her crying. Then I can use my break for pumping and reading.

  2. I’ve read a consistently diminishing number of books over the last few years and spent a little time analyzing the matter. One of the biggest culprits is the ever-expanding number of blogs I am reading! They give me enormous pleasure and challenge me to new levels of creativity. They are informative as well. So I am making peace with the number of books I am reading . And I’m in a busy season of life too but older than you (my youngest daughter is 14 and in high school). In a few short years she will be heading off to college! I’m already thinking how I will fill the hours and days when I’m an empty-nester and books figure prominently!!

    1. There just isn’t enough hours in the day! I’m bad about reading blogs, but not commenting. I also should really use my time nursing the baby to read and not use it to play candy crush saga or read endless blogs.

Leave a Reply

