Weekend Cooking: Baked Apple Cinnamon French Toast

wpid-CAM00054.jpgIf you even know me a little, you’ll know that I love pumpkin everything. I wait until September 1st and then I declare myself in a pumpkin love frenzy until February or March. I just don’t get tired of pumpkin.

The other folks I live with are less enthusiastic about pumpkin. They’ll eat a slice of pumpkin bread, but just a few weeks into September I start getting pained looks every time I go to the kitchen to bake. They’re polite and they’ll eat it, but they just don’t appreciate the awesomeness of pumpkin.

Apples, however, apples are lovely and autumnal and pair well with lovely spices like cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves.  Apples are our fall compromise. The husband eats it… the toddler eats it… the teen sometimes eats it… and my taste buds are happy. Last week I made apple cinnamon scones, but this week I decided to make baked french toast.

Dairy-Free Baked Apple Cinnamon French Toast

(modified from this recipe)

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons Earth Balance, softened and divided
4 apples, peeled, cored and thinly sliced and divided
4 tablespoons light brown sugar
1.5 tablespoon ground cinnamon, divided
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg, divided
1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
6 eggs, lightly beaten
2 cups soy milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 baguette, a little on the stale side, sliced into about 12 thick slices

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
2. Lightly grease an 8”x12” baking dish with 1 tablespoon Earth Balance.
3. Place apples in a mixing bowl and sprinkle with sugar, 3/4 tablespoon cinnamon, and ¼ teaspoon nutmeg. Gently toss together until apple slices are well coated.
4. Place apple slices into the bottom of the baking dish and spread into an even layer. Set aside.
5. Place eggs, milk, vanilla, cardamom, remaining cinnamon and nutmeg into a mixing bowl and whisk together.
6. Dip a slice of bread into the egg mixture until well coated and place into the baking dish. Repeat until all bread slices have been used or until baking dish is filled. Pour remaining egg mixture over the baking dish, cover with plastic wrap and place in refrigerator for 1 hour. Uncover, dot surface with remaining Earth Balance and bake for 40 to 45 minutes or until egg mixture has set and bread has toasted.
7. Allow to cool for 5 minutes before scooping and serving with powdered sugar and maple syrup, if desired.

 

wkendcooking

11 comments

  1. Looks yummy. This is the time of the year I start making apple bread pudding. Hmmm. I’ll bet pumpkin bread pudding would be good, too!

    1. This is the first time I’ve made baked french toast. Weirdly enough, I didn’t make it previously because I thought the 40 minute bake time too long. However, when I make it on the stove it takes FOREVER to turn and flip a few pieces at a time. At least I can do stuff while the baked french toast is in the oven.

Leave a Reply

