Classics Spin #3: The Creepy Autumnal Classics Edition

Image

Once again the Classics Club is doing a “spin” (read more about it here). I love the Classics spin. It satisfies my OCD list-making desires AND forces me to read a bit more spontaneously. 

I’ve decided to theme my lists a bit and this go I’ve chosen a gothic-ghostie-creepy reading list.

Without further ado:

  1. Aurora Floyd by Mary Elizabeth Braddon
  2. Dracula’s Guest: A Connoisseur’s Collection of Victorian Vampire Stories
  3. Desperate Remedies by Thomas Hardy
  4. The Dead Secret by Wilkie Collins
  5. East Lynne by Mrs. Henry Wood
  6. Gaskell’s Gothic Tales
  7. The Haunted Hotel by Wilkie Collins
  8. The House by the Churchyard by J. Sheridan LeFanu
  9. The Italian by Ann Radcliffe
  10. King Solomon’s Mines by H. Rider Haggard
  11. Lilith by George MacDonald
  12. Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
  13. The Monk by Matthew Lewis
  14. Melmoth the Wanderer by Charles Maturin
  15. No Name by Wilkie Collins
  16. Oxford Book of Gothic Tales
  17. Red House Mystery by Arthur Conan Doyle
  18. The Thing on the Doorstep by H P Lovecraft
  19. Uneasy Freehold by Dorothy Macardle
  20. The Victorian Chaise-longue by Marghanita Laski 

I cannot wait! I’ll find out which book I’m reading when a number is chosen on Monday, the 19th!

10 comments

  1. I have No Name on my list too. I like how you have a theme — mine is pretty boring, but I did put in five really long books as my free choice category. The only one on your list that I’ve read is The Victorian Chaise-Longue which was okay. I’ve read M. E. Braddon, but it was Lady Audley’s Secret, which I loved. I do want to read more of her books someday. Good luck with your spin selection!

Leave a Reply

