Readerly Rambles: 05/22/2013

 

What I read: Last week I finished Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird. It feel so good to finish a richly satisfying read. I fondly remember times past when I would blow through an entire stack of books in the space of a week. Now I have to carve out time to read. I miss reading in huge gulps. I guzzled Bird by Bird.


What I’m reading: I’m 3/4 of the way through Vanity Fair. I am liking now, there for awhile I was in a rut. I like Becky Sharpe’s “story” the most; she’s smart and interesting and cunning. Amelia, on the other hand, is so good, and helpless, and ridiculous. Always weeping, spoiling the piss out of her bratty kid, groveling to her idiotic,selfish parents… sheesh. I have trouble feeling sorry for her at all. Things are clipping along now and I’m starting to get worried for Becky (although she does kinda deserve some sort of punishment for using everyone). Of course, Becky wouldn’t have to use flirtation and parlor politics to make her way in society if she was constrained by Victorian patriarchy.

 
I’m also midway through Barbara Pym’s posthumous novel Civil to Strangers and — in true Pym fashion — it is filled with gossiping spinsters, love in surprising places, and one-sided love triangles. I’m reading it in anticipation of Pym Reading Week.
 
What’s up next: More Pym! I don’t think I’ll get to read and re-read all the Pym I wanted, but I’m certainly going to make sure that I get to her diaries and letters. Yesterday I received A Very Private Eye: An Autobiography in Diaries and Letters and I cannot wait to begin reading about Barbara Pym’s life.
 
After Pym week I plan to dig into my Classic Spin #2 read, Jenny by Sigrid Undset. The novel concerns a painter who has an affair with a married man and then has a baby out of wedlock. It was considered shocking at the time (1911) and was therefore labeled immoral.

The only other books I might throw into the mix for the next few weeks are Harry Potter 6 and 7; I never did finish my re-re-re-read and I hate leaving something unfinished.

That’s it for now. I’m anxious to get back to reading.

Image

One comment

Leave a Reply

