Book Drunk, TBR check-in, Pym News, and Classics Spin

ImageI think I may be slowly losing my mind. I’m back to getting a mere four to five hours of sleep at night and it isn’t due to worry or kids or anything else. I simply want to stay up late to read. Or, rather, I wake to feed Persy between 1:30 and 2 in the morning and then I have a rotten time going back to sleep. So I read.

Last night I finished Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird: Instructions on Writing and Life at 3 in the morning. It was lovely to be half-dazed by insomnia and drinking in all the words and images and I really felt like Lamott was there beside me and tutting encouragement. I will do a more thorough review at some point, but suffice it to say that I am devastatingly hungry for words. I want to write them. I want to read them. Books are haunting me. In the shower last night I suddenly felt like I should re-read The Mists of Avavlon. Today, while doing ILL business, I thought of a certain Thomas Hardy novel I keep meaning to read. Upon watching a certain bit of comical madness in the library I decided I was living in a Barbra Pym novel and should begin transcribing everything.

All the words.

Having my book mojo back is infinitely delightful. Maybe this means I will actually get some work done on various reading projects. Let’s take a look at where I stand on reading projects:

  • TBR Pile – I finished Rough Magic: A Biography of Sylvia Plath and you can read that review here. I’m on my second TBR book, Barbra Pym’s Civil to Strangers and Other Writings. Of course it is classic witty Pym.
  • Which leads me to Pym week! I’m cohosting with Thomas a week of celebrating Barbara Pym. Join us June first as we begin the festivities! Bring your cardigan!
  • My Classics Club reading is going about as well as can be expected. Okay, scratch that… it is happening at a molasses pace. I’m still reading Vanity Fair and I cannot decide if I like it. I hate Becky and Amelia and so the book is painful in parts. I’ll post a more thorough review when I’m done.
  • Next up is an 18th Century English Literature event wherein I attempt Fanny Burney!
  • In keeping with my Classic Clubs endeavors, I’ve decided to participate in the Classics Spin #2. I will list 20 classic books and on May 20th a number will be chosen at the Classics Club and I will read the title that corresponds to that number in the list. Below is my list:
  1. The Warden by Anthony Trollope
  2. The Mayor of Casterbridge by Thomas Hardy
  3. He Knew he Was Right by Anthony Trollope
  4. The Painted Veil by W. Somerset Maugham
  5. The Heat of the Day by Elizabeth Bowen
  6. Jenny by Sigrid Undset
  7. A House and Its Head by I. Compton-Burnett
  8. No Name by Wilkie Collins
  9. Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell
  10. Dianna of the Crossways by George Meredith
  11. The Shorter Fictions of Virginia Woolf
  12. Custom of the Country by Edith Wharton
  13. Mr. Fortune’s Maggot by Sylvia Townsend Warner
  14. East Lynne by Mrs. Ward
  15. The Go-Between by L P Hartley
  16. A Handful of Dust by Evelyn Waugh
  17. The Judge by Rebecca West
  18. Daniel Deronda by George Eliot
  19. Hunt the Slipper by Violet Trefusis
  20. The Princess and the Goblin by George MacDonald

Loads of wonderful bookish stuff this spring! Now, to dig back into that Pym novel…

3 comments

  1. Good luck with your CC spin – #6 is a book and author I’ve never heard of before.
    I’m very interested in your Pym readalong – I have Excellent Women on my TBR pile – I just have to work out if I can read it and my CC spin, Tess and finish the 4 books I currently have on the go in the time available!!
    I’ll be back…..

Leave a Reply

