2009 Reading Stats and Looking at 2010

Last night I finished The Casebook of Victor Frankenstein and my 2009 reading year came to a close. 

Let’s get right to the numbers:

Total Books Read:  54
Novels:  29
Short Story Collections:  4

Non-Fiction:  6
Graphic Novels:  4
Young Adult and Children’s:  10
Plays:  1
Poetry: 0 (yikes!)

Rereads:  5

New to me authors:  29
Library books read:  42

Owned books read:  12


Average number of titles read per month:  4.5

WOW!  It is so weird to step back and look at an entire year of reading.  In 2010, I need to work on adding poetry back into the mix and increasing short-story collection readings.

Now onto my favorite part; choosing my top 10 reads of 2009!  So with out further ado, and in random order I present my favorites of 2009:

  1. Bleak House by Charles Dickens
  2. The Suspicions of Mr. Whicher by Kate Summerscale
  3. Drood by Dan Simmons
  4. The Ghostwriter by John Harwood
  5. A Few Green Leaves by Barbara Pym
  6. Swans on an Autumn River by Sylvia Townsend-Warner
  7. The Dracula Dossier by James Reese
  8. The Seance by John Harwood
  9. The White Queen by Phillipa Gregory
  10. Ripley Under Ground by Patricia Highsmith

 I’ve already written about the challenges and reading goals I’m attempting in 2010 and here is my very ambitious TBR pile for January:

I know this is a HUGE pile, but a few of the books (The Oxford Book of English Ghost Stories and Our Mutual Friend) will be ongoing reads.  The Queen’s Secret and The Children’s Book are both for GoodReads reading groups.  The Ghost Stories of Edith Wharton is for the Classics Circuit and A Study in Scarlet is for a Reading Challenge.  The Pym and Taylor books are thrown in because I really want to read them.

Tonight, I plan on ringing in the New Year with reading.  Sam has to work tonight and Hope is at Grandma’s.  I’m exhausted from over-socializing this holiday and am completely content to toast the beginning of the New Year with a pot of coffee, a blanket, the cat, and a pile of books.  Here are the reads I plan on dipping into tonight:

Happy New Year and Happy Reading!

5 comments

  1. Happy New Year! 🙂

    Have a wonderful reading year ahead. I'm looking forward to your posts 🙂 Ringing in the new year with reading is probably one of the best ways to go about it 🙂

  2. Happy New Year, Amanda! Two of your favorites are ones I'd really like to read in 2010: Drood and The Seance. I got sidetracked away from Drood by reading two science fiction titles by Simmons.

  3. Hi Amanda! The new year is here and The Tudor Book challenge has begun. I wish you luck in your pursuit of wonderful Tudor literature this year.

    I have posted an official roster of participants in The Tudor Book Challenge. You can find that here.

    http://benedictionary.wordpress.com/2010/01/01/tudor-book-challenge-official-roster/

    When you finish a Tudor book and review it, please provide me a link there so I can update your progress for the prizes we are giving away. Happy historical readings in 2010!

Leave a Reply

